Oxford American

$ 250.00 

This product is currently sold out.

Introducing the Oxford American's first ever vinyl LP, a Texas Love Letter compilation to compliment our Texas Music Issue & CD. Conceived and composed by OA music editor Rick Clark with help from our friend, Texas songwriting legend Ray Wylie Hubbard, the LP is only available as a limited-edition gift for joining the Oxford American Society at the Supporter level or above. 

Your donation to the Oxford American Literary Project, a 501c(3) non-profit organization, is tax-deductible. All proceeds from this special project will go toward producing more of the Oxford American magazine's great writing and music you love.

This exclusive donor gift is limited to 400 hand-numbered copies.

Become a member of the Oxford American Society today to receive this exclusive, limited-edition LP.




Side A

1. “House of Blue Lights" by Ella Mae Morse

2. "Dirty Work At The Crossroads" by Clarence "Gatemouth" Brown

3. “Grand Candy Young Sweet” by Fever Tree

4. “Me And My Destiny” by Doug Sahm

5. “Corazon Viajero” by Tish Hinojosa

6. “Harm's Swift Way” (Demo) by Townes Van Zandt

Side B

1. “Amarillo Highway” by Terry Allen

2. “Let Her Dance” by Bobby Fuller Four

3. “The Messenger” by Ray Wylie Hubbard

4. “Satin Sheets” by Willis Alan Ramsey

5. “Gospel” by Charlie Sexton

In eleven masterful songs, the Oxford American’s Texas Love Letter LP showcases the high-caliber songcraft of the state of Texas—some of which has never been available in any form. Most notably, we are proud to debut Townes Van Zandt’s final recording, “Harm's Swift Way.” The song has been covered by Robert Plant and a few others over the years, but the original demo version has never been officially released until now. Thanks to the generosity of Van Zandt’s family and because of Townes’s appreciation of the Oxford American magazine in the last years of his life, we are honored to debut this hauntingly beautiful masterpiece.

Other highlights: A song from Willis Alan Ramsey’s long out-of-print self-titled 1972 album, a Texas cult classic; a new stripped-down arrangement of “Gospel,” recorded live by Charlie Sexton in October 2014, exclusively for this album; and, on the back sleeve of the LP, a love letter to Texas songwriting penned by our friend Ray Wylie Hubbard.

Share this

Pin Post Plus

Similar Products